Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies

Lately I have been having wild intense cravings for peanut butter. I don’t know what it is, and I can’t figure out why I used to not be a fan of the creamy delicious treat before. What’s great about it? It’s kind of healthy for you. It’s chock full of protein and good fats, pretty low in the carbohydrate department, and insanely delicious. These cookies? Not healthy for you. I DID use Natural Jiff peanut butter, but I don’t really think that counts. They are still full of all those ingredients that make a delicious and unhealthy tr eat (sugar, butter, chocolate chips). But guess what? I didn’t make these in an effort to try and be healthy. I made them because when peanut butter and chocolate come together, it creates something beautiful. And these cookies, are a beautiful thing. They aren’t huge, they are a good size, about the size of a chips ahoy cookie. You could call them “treat sized” as Starbucks likes to call their new peanut butter cookies (and their double chocolate cookies, as well.*) I almost came close to not baking these, because of lack of flour, but i had exactly enough! After baking these, I realized I need to have more cookies in my life. They are just so simple to make, and almost always tasty. So, if you’re into the whole chocolate chip meets peanut butter thing, I recommend you bake these. You don’t HAVE to use natural peanut butter, and I only used it because it was the only kind I had in the house. If you do decide to, use the kind that does not seperate, (such as Skippy or Jiff Natural), because I’m not really sure what would happen with the kind with extra oils. It might work, but use with caution!

*For all of you Starbuck-goers, I wouldn’t really recommend their treat sized cookies. I’m not sure as an employee, I should be saying this, but as a person who loves baked goods, these are not worth it, at about $1 a piece. You’re better off buying their outrageous oatmeal cookies, or chocolate chunk. But really, you’re better off baking these! ;)

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
recipe can be found here
yields approx 3 dozen “treat sized” cookies

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup peanut butter at room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1 tablespoon sugar for sprinkling

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Beat the butter and peanut butter until fluffy. Add the sugars and beat until smooth. Add egg, milk and vanilla. Gradually mix in the flour mixture and beat thoroughly. Stir in chocolate and peanut butter chips.
  4. Place sprinkling sugar on a plate. Drop dough by rounded teaspoon into sugar and roll around, then put onto ungreased cookie sheet, leaving several inches between them for expansion.
  5. Using a fork lightly indent the top of each cookie (or use a small offset spatula if you want a smooth top), but don’t over-flatten.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes. DON’T overbake — the cookies may look really soft and underdone, but trust me, they aren’t.
  7. Cool the cookies on the sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.
  8. Enjoy while warm! (or not, but awesome when still warm.)
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

