Brown Sugar Coookies with a Touch of Sea Salt

Over the weekend I was craving a cookie. Not just any cookie, but a crunchy cookie. As much as I love chewy soft cookies, I’ve got a sweet spot for a cookie with a crunch. So Sunday I browsed foodgawker, looking for a cookie that I could bake with whatever ingredients I had on me. I wanted something simple, and I found the perfect cookie; brown sugar cookies. The batter was filled with simple ingredients I had on, and I decided to change something up a little bit. I’ve been really into salty-sweets lately, and so I thought I’d give this cookie a little salty touch, by replacing the regular salt with sea salt. It was the perfect amount, and it really hit my salty sweet spot. Some of the cookies turned out crunchier than the rest, but I liked that, because it gave me the chance to try both a crispy cookie and a soft chewy one as well. If you do decide to make these, I hope you enjoy!

Brown Sugar Cookies
Recipe from Furey and the Feast
Makes: 16-18 large cookies

3/4 cups unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg, room temperature
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tsp course sea salt

1. Move oven racks to upper and middle third of your oven, and preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line two cookie sheets or with parchment paper. Cream butter and both sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer/hand mixer. Add egg, vegetable oil an vanilla, mix until incorporated.
2. In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt, and mix to combine. Add flour mixture to mixing bowl and mix until all ingredients just come together (dough will be somewhat wet and crumbley-like).
3. Portion dough into 16-18 balls (around the size of a golf ball) and place on cookie sheets about 2 1/2 inches to 3 inches apart. Bake for 12-15 minutes for chewy cookies, and 16 to 18 minutes for crunchy. Remove from oven, cool in pan for 5 minutes before placing on rack to cool completely. Store in airtight container.

    • chefashley
    • April 17th, 2010

    These look so simple and delicious! I think I’ll make some tomorrow!

  1. I just made them! Sooo buttery and full of sugar. YUM!

      • thehungrypanda
      • April 27th, 2010

      awesome! hope you enjoy them as much as i did =]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

