Rick Bayless: Mexican Everyday

Today I made a trip to the library to check out some cookbooks. To my surprise, Rick Bayless’ Mexican Everyday cookbook was actually available to check out! I’ve been wanting to check it out, but haven’t wanted to put it on the hold shelf, because that would mean committing to check it out, which means, i would probably forget or laziness would take over, and I wouldn’t pick it up. So anyhoo, I was really excited when I saw it on the shelf, and immediately sat down to look through it and see what i wanted to cook up tonight. (If any of you aren’t familiar with Rick Bayless, well then get familiarized. Frontera Grill, Topolobampo, XOCO, Top Chef, Chicago, etc. The sad thing – I haven’t gotten around to going to any of his restaurants, and I live in the Chicago area. SOON i promise). Anyways, i immediately flipped to the section with tacos and tortas, because it’s been a long time since I’ve had either. I was actually craving Mexican food pretty hard earlier this week, so Rick Bayless to the rescue! I found the perfect recipe – Crusty Black Bean-Chorizo Subs aka Tortas de Chorizo y Frijoles Negros. The list of ingredients was not extensive, and I knew this would be delicious, because, chorizo + beans + avocado + cheese + SANDWICHED together. yes. The recipe called for roasted tomatillo salsa or hot sauce, and I decided to go all out and make the salsa, too. Tonight would be Mexican night. So after I left the library, I went off to the market to get my ingredients, and rushed home because I was starving. I also decided to make a soup to ago along with it, although I didn’t really pair it very well. I decided to make his Mushroom-Potato Crema w/ Roasted poblanos. I had just gotten my brand new hand immersion blender the other day and was extremely eager to use it, and this soup would be the first to test it out on.

The results were great. Well with the torta at least. The soup wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t as creamy delicious as I had hoped for. But I was more excited about the sandwich anyways, so I didn’t feel so bad. Chorizo, i have a new love for you. I never was a huge fan of chorizo before, I think it was due to the fact that i would get painful stomach aches after eating it (but honestly, when do i not have an upset stomach after eating Mexican?) I was a big fan of the vegetarian version – soyrizo, and still am, and would definitely make this again vegetarian style. But let me tell you. There was tons of flavor, a little spiciness, and it was just the bomb sandwich. I also had fun making the salsa, as it was my first time with that. I roasted my own tomatillos! hooray me! And it was super easy too.

my tomatillos roasting on a foiled pan on the stove (i didn’t have a nonstick, so it suggested covering the pan with foil which was nice, and easy on the clean up). a really ugly picture of the salsa: as ugly as the picture is, the salsa is really great. I’m going to have to remember to use 2 jalapenos rather than 1. maybe even 3. i like salsa hot enough to clear my sinuses. the soup: and finally: THE TORTA

i found the perfect rolls to use for the tortas, got them crusty on the stove, then topped them off with:
chorizo-black bean mixture
Mexican queso fresco
avocado
tomatillo salsa
cilantro
and it was just pure yum. i think i skimped on the chorizo, because they turned out almost bean burgerish,which is totally fine with me, but next time i really want to taste that chorizo. I’m excited to make these again, and i think next time, I’ll even add some bacon, just for kicks. i even got my hands on some Mexican mango paletas at Aldi! yes, for anyone who is wondering, Aldi does sell paletas, for cheap too! (obviously). a pack of 6 for $2.99? yes, please. I’m going to have to try and make my own in the future, because hot damn, they are good.

 

well, check back in tomorrow, because it’s World Nutella Day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

