welcome!

Welcome to the opening of my food blog, The Hungry Panda. I hope you will enjoy the food that I post, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Today I explored Whole Foods finding goodies and essentials I will be needing for my creations that I will be posting for all of whoever is reading my blog. I spent almost 2 hours in there, and I really need to stick to a grocery list, because there is so much distracting junk food! I knew that I had to go in and get some bread for my Black Bean Burgers that I was going to make today. I pretty much had everything else: I popped a bag of black beans in the crockpot last night, so those were at home waiting to be mashed up with some other good stuff. I did plan on making the Chai tea cupcakes from ” Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” but by the time I got home from my grocery trip I was pretty beat, and knew I had to make a main meal for me before embarking on dessert [even though I realllly wanted to bake…tomorrow perhaps!] Anyways, I picked up some vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies which I had for dessert, and it indeed yummy. I purchased several items that I have never tried before, such as Sucanat, which is nonrefined cane sugar, Nutritional Yeast flakes for some “cheesy” dishes I plan on making, Braggs Liquid Aminos which is a Certified NON-GMO liquid protein concentrate, derived from soybeans that can be used in replacement of Soy sauce or Tamari [its very low in sodium…no added salt!] and a few other things that I can’t really recall.

I haven’t been eating meat for a few days now, and I honestly don’t miss it. I watched “meet your meat” [VIEWER DISCRETION ADVISED] last night and I was saddened by the cruelty those animals were put through. I don’t think I need meat, and the only thing that is really an issue is family parties, or going out to eat. Well seeing that there are no family parties for a while, I won’t have to deal with that, and as for going out to eat, there are usually vegetarian/vegan options available at a lot of the places I go to [chipotle..mm..], and seeing that I am also trying to get healthier, I probably shouldn’t be going out to eat anyways! I hope everyone can respect my decision, whether they like it or not!

Anyways, tonight my black bean burgers were a success. I took the recipe from here but did modify it to my liking (i didn’t add salsa or chili powder, instead used cayenne pepper and red chili flakes.) Also, I took the picture before I even tried the burger, and it was a little dry, so I added some Veganaise and a little green salsa verde to give it a bit of moisture, which helped, and it was great! I was pleasantly suprised, because this is the first time I have made a burger out of beans, and it was extremely easy, and I reccomend it to anyone who wants a burger, but doesn’t want to feel so heavy and gross afterwards. Beans make a great burger, and I quote my boyfriend Tony “It really tastes like a burger.” I was skeptical of him trying it out, and was relieved and grateful that he enjoyed it. My parents enjoyed it as well, and all around I give it a 4 out of 5 stars! Hooray.

[black bean burger patty topped with avocado, thick slice of tomato, clover sprouts (sprouts make everything better..and pretty!), all on top of Ezekiel sesame sprouted buns.]

the potato wedges were extremely easy to make, and turned out yummy! i cut up a few idaho russet potatoes, soaked em for about 30 minutes, dried em, popped em on a baking pan, drizzled some evoo on top with sea salt, crushed black pepper and a little celery salt. baked em for about an hour and they turned out semi-crispy on the skin, and soft and delicious on the inside.

    • s3xxxych3rry
    • March 23rd, 2009

    you are amazing. i miss you and love you panda!

    x0x0

    • Natalie
    • March 24th, 2009

    I’M GOING TO EAT ALL YOUR FOOD!
    Need to spend more time at your house, if not for the phenomenal company (;D), then for the delicious meals! Haha, are you in need of a guinea pig?

    Seriously, this all looks and sounds so amazing. And Whole Foods! I love that place. Many romantic memories. ^^
    Love to hear that you are eating so well! I’m thinking about being a pescatarian. Should I go for it?!

    • Natalie
    • March 24th, 2009

    Oh, I just re-read and saw that Tony and the fam are your guinea pigs. ;___; SAD.

    • Gabby
    • March 24th, 2009

    nummy nummy nummy!

    Congrats on making your first food blog entry.
    I think I will have to join you on being a veggie.

    (nice plate by the way) ;)

  1. You know what’s weird?
    I bought those exact same burger buns at whole foods on Sunday. They’re tasty, no?
    Only I didn’t make my own burger..
    I haven’t made that since I was in culinary school.
    I’m completely head over heals for Amy’s veggie burgers.
    I like them because they DON’T taste like meat.
    I like it when they taste like grains.
    I’m weird like that though. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

