Happy National Doughnut Day!

So, it’s national doughnut day! National doughnut day falls on the first Friday of June every year, created by the Chicago Salvation Army in 1938, “to raise funds during the Great Depression, and to honor the work of World War I Salvation Army volunteers who prepared donuts and other foods for thousands of soldiers.” So there’s the history of this great holiday. Started right off here in Chicago, and is celebrated nation-wide, by all people, lovers of doughnuts. While you can go to Dunkin Donuts, or Krispy Kreme to grab a free doughnut in honor of this celebration, or to your local bakery, doughnut shop, or wherever, you can also make doughnuts right in your very own kitchen! I’m not going to say it’s easy as pie, because if you’re making them from scratch, it does take some patience, and timing, etc. But if you do it the easy way, where you buy a can of biscuits at your local grocery store, and fry those up, well then it is easy as pie! (or in this case, doughnuts.) I’ve never made doughnuts prior to this, and I’ve never made doughnuts from a can of biscuits either. The only time I’ve made something similar, was when I made malasadas (which did not come out as I had hoped). I still have a small fear of yeast, so I decided I would do the yeast, but in case those didn’t turn out very good, I’d also make cake doughnuts. The recipes I used came from this book that I purchased a couple weeks ago:

There are some excellent looking doughnuts in that book, and I highly recommend you get the book!
I decided for my first batches of doughnuts, I didn’t want to do anything too extravagant, so I chose simple, classic doughnuts. I went with the yeast glazed doughnut, and the devils food cake doughnut. The yeast glazed doughnut was originally supposed to be vanilla, but I accidentally looked at the wrong glaze recipe, and ended up adding cinnamon, which was fine by me, and a good decision anyways. I made the cake doughnuts first, and god damn, it was difficult. The dough was super sticky, and it wasn’t rolling well, and it was really difficult to keep their shape when I would pick them up from the surface after cutting them. But alas, I did it, and most of the doughnuts came out shapely. As for frying, the recipes always seem to call for frying the doughnut for a minute and a half on one side, then another minute on the otherside. But when I fry mine, they seem to brown really fast, and I would flip them before a minute has passed. I think I did the right thing too, because they would get hard quickly. I also had trouble keeping my oil at a steady 360 degree temp, but I tried to work it out.

For the chocolaze glaze, I decided to do use peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, to make a pb-chocolate glaze. After I dipped the doughnuts into the glaze, I topped some with sprinkles, and some were dipped in cocoa pebbles. Cereal is in, and if you didn’t know that, you do now!


Next up, the yeast glazed doughnuts. Now these turned out practically perfect. Pretty close to a krispy kreme, even. I think my yeast fears are finally over. The dough rised perfectly under the kitchen towel, and they fried up perfectly. Again, I didn’t fry them for the full time called for, I used my own judgement. After frying these doughnuts, I dunked em into the cinnamon glaze that I had prepped right before I fried the doughnuts.



Overall, I favored the yeast over the cake, which is funny, because normally, I’m a huge cake doughnut fan. But really, there is no doughnut that I won’t love. I’m going to work on the cake doughnuts again in the near future, and try to see what I can do to make them less sticky, and more manageable. They were a little dry, but not so dry that they sucked, but they could have been a little more cakey. The yeast ones were puffy and delicious.

So Happy National Doughnut Day, go get/make yours now !

  1. they look delicious. goo sheena! can’t wait to see your next donut concoctions

  2. oooh fun day to celebrate! :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

